PERMANENT AWARD EVIDENCE

Provision of Direct Debit Solution

DVLA - Driver & Vehicle Licensing Agency · published 24 Jul 2026. This page preserves the identifiers and current held fields for one Contracts Finder release; it is not an invoice, performance assessment or complete contract history.

Contracts Finder release ID35928b87-4532-4963-b30b-0264cec5a798-908188
Open Contracting ID (OCID)ocds-b5fd17-f430ad37-b79f-4e41-b13c-9ede061ca71a
Buyer identifierGB-CFS-214792
Release typeplanning
PUBLISHED COMMERCIAL FIELDS

Values stay separate.

A tender estimate and an award value answer different questions. Neither is treated as cash paid.

Award value
Not disclosed
award field
Tender value
£37,500,000
tender field
Procurement method
Not stated
Category
Not stated
CPV
66000000
Financial and insurance services
Delivery
Not stated
SA6 7JL
PUBLISHED DESCRIPTION

What the notice says

The DVLA require expressions of interest for the Provision of Direct Debit Solution. The proposed route to market is the Government Commercial DPS (GCA) Open Banking (Data, Digital Payments & Confirmation of Payee Services) DPS - Lot 1. The estimated value of the contract is c£37,500,000 and the contract will run for a 5-year term. DVLA anticipate issuing the award letter in May 2027 with a contract start date of February 2028, which allows around 8 months for transition and mobilisation activities. To find out how to become a supplier on this commercial agreement, visit https://supplierregistration.cabinetoffice.gov.uk/dps/RM6301, download the 'Bid pack', and read the READ FIRST RM6301-DPS Needs. To apply, or to update your responses, click 'Access as a supplier' to login/register. Registration is free and there is no limit on the number of suppliers who can join this DPS Marketplace. The purpose of this Prior Information Notice (PIN) is to inform the market of this upcoming requirement and invite interested suppliers to attend a virtual market engagement event. This event will provide an opportunity for DVLA to outline its proposed requirements, gather market feedback and help inform the future procurement requirements. Background The DVLA is an Executive Agency of The Department for Transport (DfT), based in Swansea. The Agency's primary aims are to facilitate road safety and general law enforcement by maintaining accurate registers of drivers and vehicle keepers and to collect Vehicle Excise Duty (VED). A Direct Debit (DD) payment option was introduced from 1st October 2014 which enables End Users to currently pay the full annual VED amount in one annual instalment, pay for a 6-month licensing period in one instalment or opt to spread the costs evenly over the term of a 12-month licensing period. All options result in an automatic VED renewal, subject to all business requirements being met, unless the End User opts out of the DD scheme. - Currently, over 1.4 million mandates are created per month, this is split between circa new (40%) and renewed (60%) mandates. - On average, Direct Debit payments total approximately £230m a month. From 1 April 2028 a new requirement will be introduced to collect eVED (Electric Vehicle Excise Duty) it is a new mileage charge for electric and plug in hybrid cars. Market Engagement Event DVLA will host a virtual Market Engagement Event on 18 August 2026 and will consist of an overview session provided by DVLA for all attendees followed by 1-2-1 sessions at the request of suppliers. If you would like to attend the event or wish to reserve a 1-2-1 appointment, please register your interest by emailing sophie.willis@dvla.gov.uk and jason.thomas@dvla.gov.uk by 17:00pm on Friday 31 July 2026. Please include the names and positions of the individuals you wish to attend. Following registration, DVLA will provide further details, including joining instructions and any relevant pre-event information.

Tender statusplanned
STAGE-DATE LEDGER

Reported dates, without an invented lifecycle.

The current projection contains one award release, not a verified chain of planning, tender, award, contract and modification records. Dates are shown in source-field order and are not silently repaired.

  1. 01Notice publishedPublication timestamp on the held release24 Jul 2026
SUPPLIER EVIDENCE

Published names and exact identifiers

A company profile appears only when this release carries a usable company number. Name-only suppliers remain name-only.

No supplier is named in this projection. That does not prove the notice had no supplier in every source version.

SOURCE

Contracts Finder release

Published 24 Jul 2026 · held through the daily award projection · Open Government Licence v3.0.

Inspect the official JSON release ↗